Day 1

I did some planning for this fast.  Just recently, I served on a Women’s ACTS retreat where we fasted for 40 days prior to the retreat.  During this time, I gave up all drinks with the exception of water and milk; no red meats, only poultry like chicken and turkey.  Fish was ok too.  I’m getting hungry thinking of what I gave up.  Temptation comes quickly.  I think my body is already prepared for this journey.  Spiritually, I’m not sure what to expect.  Why am I doing this?  Thanking God for what he has done for us and what he continues to do for me everyday.  Sure I can think of a lot of things to fix and many places to ask for God’s help – I do.  For my first Daniel Fast, I want to thank God above all, for what he has pulled me through.  The last four years were difficult and I look back on them as if they are someone else’s life.  It almost is someone else’s life.  One life filled with fear, anxiety, worry and hopelessness. 

Today, I’m filled with his grace and know his love and mercy.  Am I fixed? Are the problems still there?  I’m not fixed but I do have a thirst for God’s word.  The problems are still there but I’m strengthened by God to face whatever comes my way.  That’s pretty bold, I know. 

Leave a Reply

