St. Margaret Mary Catholic Church

April 17, 2014

Our evening begins with Holy Thursday Mass of the Lord’s Supper and Footwashing celebrated at St. Margaret Mary Catholic Church, 1314 Fair Ave., San Antonio, Texas. 78203. The practice of visiting 7 churches on Holy Thursday is in remembrance of the 7 places Jesus was taken to after he was taken prisoner at the Garden of Olives. Our Spiritual Director guided us in prayer focused on Jesus’ path and time in adoration.

 

 

I made it to the first church an hour early since I was near the East side of San Antonio. Not sure how many seats I could hold with an estimated 20 people expected in our group. Also, my phone battery was near death. I borrowed some electricity from the church to charge my phone… it was for a very good cause. My text…” phone almost dead. I’m near front left in 2nd to front row.” My Sister’s in Christ decided they would meet at home base – St. Dominic’s Catholic church and carpool to the 7 churches. At the conclusion of mass, we spent some time in adoration followed by the scripture reading below. I left a red rose at feet of our Blessed Mother.

I drove solo to the next stop and was quickly lost. I pulled over to plug in the address to GPS and realized I was on the right track. I had at least 4 phone calls thoughtfully interrupt Sri as she guided me through the dark wet streets of the East side.


Scripture: Anna’s – John 18:12-23

12 So the soldiers, their commanding officer, and the Temple guards arrested Jesus and tied him up.

13 First they took him to Anna’s, the father-in-law of Chiapas, the high priest at that time.*

14 Chiapas was the one who had told the other Jewish leaders, “It’s better that one man should die for the people.”

Peters’ First Denial

15 Simon Peter followed Jesus, as did another of the disciples. That other disciple was acquainted with the high priest, so he was allowed to enter the high priest’s courtyard with Jesus.

16 Peter had to stay outside the gate. Then the disciple who knew the high priest spoke to the woman watching at the gate, and she let Peter in.

17 The woman asked Peter, “You’re not one of that man’s disciples, are you?”
“No,” he said, “I am not.”

18 Because it was cold, the household servants and the guards had made a charcoal fire. They stood around it, warming themselves, and Peter stood with them, warming himself.

The High Priest Questions Jesus
19 Inside, the high priest began asking Jesus about his followers and what he had been teaching them.

20 Jesus replied, “Everyone knows what I teach. I have preached regularly in the synagogues and the Temple, where the people gather. I have not spoken in secret.

21 Why are you asking me this question? Ask those who heard me. They know what I said.”

22 Then one of the Temple guards standing nearby slapped Jesus across the face. “Is that the way to answer the high priest?” he demanded.

Leave a Reply

