We are servants without need

We are unprofitable servants; we have done what we were obliged to do.  Luke 17:10

An unprofitable servant is a servant without need.  Let me live a life we are called to live as one that is obliged to serve Him who died on the cross for us.  In this life, I am learning to have reliance and trust in God.  To embody the child-like dependence on Him for everything.  I am grateful for the life, family, friends and people in my every day community.  It is through His grace that I am surrounded by many people I love.  The house, my car, nice dinners and vacations are comfortable.  Any or all of it, though, can be taken.  If I am left with the love of Jesus, then I have all I need.  That is a pretty bold statement.  Do I really live that way every day?  No, I fail many times.  I give in to sin.  I give in to life’s stress.  How often do we take for granted the one’s we love? I ask for forgiveness and again commit another sin.  Lord, I ask you then, let me be a servant that lives according to your will.  Every day, let Christ be all I need.

The human heart plans the way, but the Lord directs the steps. Proverbs 16:9

Fear, worry, anxiety or uncertainty, I offer up to God because these emotions only disrupt and confuse me. Lord, take my hands so that they do good works in your name, guide my feet so that they follow your path, and open my heart so that your love and compassion is shared with my sisters and brothers.  Teach me to follow your way.  Let me see you, let me hear you.

Those who trust in him shall understand truth, and the faithful shall abide with him in love:  Because grace and mercy are with his holy ones, and his care is with his elect.  Wisdom 3:9

Leave a Reply

